Local Talent Amongst Graduate Fashion Week 2018’s Gala Awards Winners

Local Talent Amongst Graduate Fashion Week 2018's Gala Awards Winners

As Graduate Fashion Week 2018 comes to a close, the winners of this year’s Gala Awards are announced, celebrating the Talent of Tomorrow with stars such as Rebecca Wilson, Aurélie Fontan and Evelyn Babin.

Judges included Diane Von Furstenberg heading up the Gold Award, Oliver Spencer and Henry Holland with the awards taking place at the home of Graduate Fashion Week, The Truman Brewery in Shoreditch, London.

Professor Caryn Franklin MBE opened the award ceremony with a personal message from Prime Minister Theresa May, offering her support and well wishes to all students and universities involved, which read:

I wanted to wish you every success for your Gala show, and to congratulate the winners of tonight’s awards. I am very proud of the UK’s fashion industry.

From street style to haute couture, some of the most iconic brands and biggest names in the business hail from the UK. We are leaders in design, innovation, textiles, and our fashion colleges and universities are among the very best in the world. The sector contributes over £28 billion pounds to the UK economy, supports nearly 900,000 jobs and exports over £10 billion pounds to international markets.

The charity, Graduate Fashion Week, plays such an important role in the process of identifying and nurturing the very best of new talent at this crucial stage in their careers, helping ensure the next generation of gifted individuals can go on to secure leading roles in the industry. I look forward to hearing about the winners and wish them every success for the future.”

Now in its 27th year, Graduate Fashion Week brings the latest innovative and exciting emerging talent to the world’s attention, showcasing the designers of tomorrow in a four-day event. Supported by 16 Global Ambassadors and six Lifetime Patrons including: Christopher Bailey MBE, Victoria Beckham OBE, Vivienne Westwood OBE RBI, Nick Knight OBE and newly appointed Diane Von Furstenberg and Nadja Swarovski.

The Visionary Knitwear Award was presented to Fraser Miller (De Montfort University) and Jacaranda Brain (Nottingham Trent University) as the judges were so impressed by the different approaches of the students, they thought they both deserved the visionary title in their own way. Judges included Adele Cany, Louise Trotter, Iain R. Webb and Julien Macdonald OBE and Gemma Metheringham. Fraser Miller said, “Really excited confused that we both won but that’s a great turn out love how it turned out!” Jacaranda Brain said, “Really happy, really nice to have won a collection based on a weird little creature under the sea that I based a sculpture on.”

The Mothercare Catwalk Award went to Hannah Lewin (Birmingham City University). Judges included Suzanne Bailey, Noella Dixon, Jenny Titchmarsh of Mothercare and Charlotte Kewley. Winner Sarah Fielden said, “I’m freaking out. My heart is racing – It’s such an honour to even be shortlisted.” Winner Hannah Lewin said, “I’m so happy and I’m so excited.”

Boux Avenue Swimwear Award went to Lucy Nolan (Northumbira University) while the Lingerie Award was awarded to Daniella Jayes (De Montfort University). Judges included Sue Dover, Debby Duckett, Alex Paphitis.

YKK Accessories Award was given to Essi Pekhuri from Nottingham Trent University. Judged by Kei Kagami, Jas Sehembi, Tomasz Donocik, Oliver Ruuger Essi Pekhuri said, “I feel amazing, I’m stunned. Such an honour!” Tessuti Sports & Leisurewear Award was given to Georgia Lyne from Nottingham Trent University for her collection inspired by youth culture combined with the old teenage gang of old teddy boys mashed up with the road men of London today. Judged by Ghulam Nabil Khadki and Claire Pierpoint. Georgia Lyne said, “I’m really shocked. I wasn’t even going to come as I was running so late. I had to run here!”

New Fashion Media Award was awarded to Rebecca Howland from Birmingham City University for her work which focused on sexualisation within the media. Judged by Scarlett Conlon, Chimere Cisse, Victoria Magrath, Lune Kuipers and Patrick Morgan. Rebecca Howland said, “I’m so shocked, I’m shaking

More information and the full list of winners can be found at: www.graduatefashionweek.com
Spread the love